M-WASH-CC Formation in Sandhikharka Municipality

Posted 17 October, 10:07 am

Arghakhanchi, Municipality level Water, Sanitation and Hygiene Coordination Committee has been formed today in Sandhikharka Municipality of Arghakhanchi District.

Sandhikharka Municipality has been formed incorporating 7 VDCs. Village level Water, Sanitation and Hygiene Coordination Committees had been formed in all the VDCs; and GSF Program has facilitated to implement the sanitation campaign in all those VDCs.

After formation of municipality, it is obligatory to form Municipality Level WASH-Coordination Committee as guided by Sanitation and Hygiene Master Plan of Nepal.

Today, representative mass meeting was called by Sandhikharka Municipality for formation of M-WASH-CC. The committee has been formed in chairpersonship of Mr. Krishna Prasad Sapkota, Executive Officer of Sandhikharka Municipality where Mr. Lila Ram Gautam, Public Health Officer of District Health Office acts as Member-Secretary of the committee.

The mass meeting has decided to declare the municipality ODF as soon as possible. “We shall be the first newly formed municipality to declare it ODF”, said Mr. Krishna Prasad Sapkota, Chairperson of M-WASH-CC.

Similarly, the mass meeting has decided to form secretariat and advisory committee by the first meeting of M-WASH-CC. Likewise, it has been decided to make active participation in the ODF declaration ceremony from all the wards actively.

The program has been facilitated by Ms Bishnu Dawadi (DC of UN Habitat), Mr Binod Prasad Sharma (DC of UN Habitat for Dhanusha District) and Mr Gopal Ghimire (Capacity Building Expert of ECARDS Nepal).